Week 2: Mint – Chimichurri

steakplate

Well, I must admit, when I saw “mint” as this weeks ingredient, I was not excited at all. I guess in my mind I could only imagine the taste of mint as it relates to candy canes, gum and toothpaste. Basically mint extract potency! When I opened the mint leaves from the market, I was pleasantly surprised by how mild the scent was. I chose to make a dish I found at A Spicy Perspective. It was, grilled skirt steak with cilantro mint chimichurri. As a side I roasted some potatoes with LOTS of garlic and a bit of lemon.

It was so freaking easy, just throw all the ingredients into the food processor, and throw your steak(s) on the grill. Done. Dinner in under 20 minutes, including time to rest the steaks after grilling (this time estimate does not include the potatoes.)

redvinegar cilantro mintcilantro chimichurrichopped saltsteak grillsteak

Ingredients:

  • Cilantro, stems removed
  • Mint, stems removed
  • 3-4 garlic cloves (depending on size and love of garlic)
  • 3 Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Ground Cumin
  • 1 tsp Honey
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Crushed Red Pepper
  • 1/2 c Olive Oil

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend until liquified. You can add or decrease oil for desired consistency.

Spoon over sliced steak and enjoy!

These are the potatoes I made. Just halve or quarter some baby red potatoes, toss with olive oil, salt, pepper and lots of chopped garlic. I used at least 5 cloves. Then squeeze the juice from a half of a lemon over them, toss again, and bake at 400˚ for an  50-60 minutes. Turn potatoes throughout the baking to evenly brown.

garlicpotatoes

Leave a Reply

