Week 1: Appetizer – Millionaire Potato Chips

IMG_4831

So last year was kind of a bust… But I am going to give it another shot and try again this year! This time around I will participate in only the cooking challenge and skip the baking one.

Let’s get to it!

I absolutely LOVE making appetizers, but I decided to go ultra simple this week  and use up the caviar we had left over from the night before (New Years Eve!)

I took some red baby potatoes, and sliced them super thin, while leaving the skin on. Heat some oil. I used my cast iron skillet, since I was only frying a small amount. As soon as they are golden brown, remove potato chips from oil and allow to drain on a plate lined with paper towels. Simply top with crème fraîche, and caviar. These are so delicious!

I also did a variation the night beforewith roasted potato “boats.” Using baby potatoes again, take the small end of a melon baller to scoop out a divot in the potato, them slice a small sliver from the opposite side, so the potato wont roll away! Toss with olive oil, and a tiny bit of salt and pepper (remember the caviar will be salty as well) and bake the potatoes at 350° for 30 minutes. When the potatoes are fork tender, remove from oven and allow to cool to room temperature. Otherwise the crème fraîche will melt and liquify, and that’s no fun. I really hope you try one or both of these!

IMG_4819

IMG_4820

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. pounderdk
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 21:31:21

    needs more crop

    Reply

Leave a Reply

