Week 4: Pan Fried – Chicken Scallopini

This dish is an old standby. This is what I made the first time I cooked dinner for my boyfriend. Not too plain, but not overly fancy, definitely delicious! I found it years ago in a Cooking Light magazine, and it’s been in my mental recipe box ever since. Surprisingly, I haven’t made it all that often, I seem to forget it’s simple delightfulness. When the pan frying week came up, I knew it was the perfect opportunity to share it.

Clean chicken breasts, and sprinkle with salt, pepper & lemon juice.

Dredge each breast in bread crumbs. I used Italian seasoned panko, but they don’t “stick” as well. It wasn’t a flaw, but if you use traditional 4C’s or something like that, they do coat better.

Add chicken to pan and brown on both sides. The original recipe calls for simply coating the pan with cooking spray, but i used  a few tablespoons of olive oil. Normally olive oil is terrible to use, but I had nothing else in the house, and was unaware of that fact previously. I just kept the heat on the low side and made sure not to burn the oil.

After all the breasts are cooked, set aside and keep them warm, but don’t cover them up or they’ll get soggy! I placed them in a cake pan and put them in the one on low heat. Don’t let them dry out though!

Use the same pan to make the sauce. Add chicken broth and wine, stir and get all the bits up off the pan. After 30 seconds remove from heat and add capers and butter.

Plate the chicken and drizzle with wine sauce. It’s so yummy!

Enjoy!

  • 4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/3 cup Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 4 teaspoons capers
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Original printable recipe here

Leave a Reply

