Week 3: White Chocolate – White Chocolate Macadamia Bars

I alway find white chocolate really difficult to work with. It’s too hard to melt because it burns so quickly. Never mind that it’s not really chocolate…

I guess this 52 weeks thing is really making me use ingredients that I would not have, otherwise.

So I searched for “white chocolate recipes” and came upon one for a variation of one of my favorite holiday treats! Magic 7 layer bars! Sub regular chocolate chips and butterscotch chips for twice as much white chips! I also used Macadamia nuts instead of almonds or pecans which is what I normally use.

Fist take one stick of butter, place it in a 13″x9″ baking pan and place it in the oven while it preheats to 350 degrees (325 if you’re using a glass dish)

**I forgot to take a picture of this step**

When the butter is melted, take the pan out and sprinkle the graham cracker crumbs evenly over the entire bottom of the dish. Then press to smooth out. I used the bottom of my 1/2 cup measuring cup to even it out.

Then pour the entire can of sweetened condensed milk of the top.

Then sprinkle about 75% the chips and the nuts evenly across the top.

Next, sprinkle the coconut all over.

Then sprinkle the remaining nuts and chips over the coconut.

Place pan in oven and bake for 25-30 minutes.

   

Yummy!

  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 cups (12 oz. pkg.) white chocolate chips
  • 1 1/3 cups flaked coconut
  • 1 cup chopped nuts – macadamia, slivered almonds or walnuts work best

Recipe found at Love From The Oven

Leave a Reply

