Week 2: Chinese – Lo Mein

Ahhhhhhhhh! Chinese is my favorite! But I guess it’s more of a favorite from the chinese restaurant, since I almost never cook Chinese dishes at home. Something about it just never comes out the same as my local delivery tastes. So I thought that Lo Mein would be a good at home dish to try out.

I found the recipe on allrecipes.com  and altered it slightly to suit my tastes (i.e. no mushrooms)

First boil water and cook pasta.

Then I cut up all my veggies to get everything ready to go, I had the wok heating with oil while I did this. You want the wok to be REALLY hot when you cook in it.

Throw carrots, onions, peppers and garlic into the heated wok. Stir until tender.

Add bean sprouts and green onions, cook for about a minute. Mix cornstarch with chicken broth and add to wok. Add remaining ingredients and cook until sauce thickens and bubbles.

Add pasta to wok, and toss to coat

   

Serve and enjoy!

  • 8 ounces uncooked spaghetti
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup sliced red bell peppers
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups fresh bean sprouts
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup hoisin sauce
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon curry powder
Leave a Reply

