Week 1: Eggs – Bacon & Fontina Quiche and welcome to 2014

Well, I made it farther in 2013 than in 2012. I was able to get about 40 weeks posted on reddit.com, but unfortunately, only about 12 made it here to the blog.

So new year, fresh start! I notice that some of the themes this year are starting to be reused (I remember eggs from one of the weeks in 2012), but that just gives us an opportunity to branch out even further from “core” or “staple” recipes. This is a CHALLENGE, remember. I attempted to recruit some more friends into this year as well, but apparently everyone I know is too lazy to commit to a specific theme/ingredient/etc. ONE TIME A WEEK. Lame. But my two beautiful sisters seem to be giving it a concerted effort!

Anyway, here’s week 1′s egg dish!

Bacon & Fontina Quiche

I made this really amazing breakfast strata recommended by my lovely co-worker, Kayla. She was kind enough to email me her recipe, which I changed slightly, to be more “meat heavy” for the benefit of Shawn :) The strata would have been GREAT for egg week, but, i used it in 2013′s Week 52: Holiday Traditions (yes, it is now our tradition to make this yummy strata for Christmas breakfast!) Ok, back to the quiche…

I looked at a few different recipes to come up with something that I felt incorporated all the things i wanted in my quiche. And as a shortcut, I used a pre-made frozen pie crust. I know, I’m a terrible person. I’ve felt terrible about it for weeks now.

Image

First I chopped up the bacon, and sautéd it in a pan, then I added some chopped sage at the end of the cooking time. Be careful not to burn the sage.

Image

Shred the cheese up, the more, the cheesier!

Image

Here’s a shot of the bacon and sage, after I spooned it out of the pan. Look how pretty those little sage flecks are!

Image

After you combined all the cheese and bacon, into your egg mixture, pour into your pre-baked pie shell. Pre-baking is sup important! Don’t skip this step, unless you want a soggy gross crust bottom.

Image

I added a whole sage leaf to the top for a pretty garnish!

Image

Just out of the oven, and it looks delightful!

Image

I highly recommend trying out this quiche, it was quite delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie shell
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2lb bacon
  • 1 1/2 c of heavy cream (you can sub milk here, or a mixture of both)
  • 2Tbsp chopped sage (1 extra leaf for garnish, optional)
  • 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese (again you can sub here with your favorite type)
  • salt & pepper

Pre-heat oven to 375

Pre-bake your pie shell for about 8-10 min, just until it puffs a bit and is no longer raw, place shell on a baking sheet. Chop up the bacon, and fry until desired doneness. Add your chopped sage to the bacon, about 2 minutes before the bacon is finished cooking. Remove from heat, and set aside. Shred your fontina up and set aside. Scramble eggs in a bowl, add in cream/milk and season with salt & pepper. Add in bacon and cheese to the eggs, give a good stir, and pour into pie shell. Place your garnish on top (if using), and then put the baking sheet with your filled quiche, into the oven. The baking sheet will catch any spillage from the quiche. Bake for 45 minutes, or until center no longer jiggles. Remove quiche from oven and allow to set for about 5-10 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

